-

7:05 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 28, 2003

I make boys cry.

Isn't that great line for a T-shirt? I love it! It�s my going out dancing motto.

So my girlfriend and I went to the movies yesterday. It was opening day for Charlie�s Angels: Full Throttle. I dare say it was better than the first. So, we come out of the theater pumped up and ready to go. We had already planned on going out dancing, now that plan had become more of a mission. We zoomed back to her place, called up our third comrade and made sure she was on her way. We get super dolled up, and during the dolling process we discuss the kick ass movie, acknowledge how our adrenaline systems are running on serious overdrive and ponder the most important question�. Where shall we go??

All I know at this point is that where ever we would be going� we will be required to make a scene, and make boys cry. Quite the saucy bunch are we! So we thought. Not that we didn�t attract some serious attention everywhere we went. I mean really, I�m not conceited. Quite the opposite really, but I have to admit that we are some sexy women! So why didn�t we have the time of our lives last night? I don�t know what the heck was happening in town last night. Maybe there was some flyer sent out to a vast majority of the city, but we, for whatever reason, got left off of the mailing list. The town was hoppin�!

I mean HOPPIN�!

EVERYWHERE!!

Except where we were. Where were all of the beautiful dancing people? I mean come on! This is nice summer night� a Friday night� in Houston! And why is it that only the freaks and weirdoes are brave enough to come up and make gestures with their mouths and try to get all up the girls? Why can�t it ever by just a nice and seemingly normal person? I don�t know� maybe they can dance nonchalantly near us� make eye contact and smile. Not the kind of smile that Jack the Ripper or Max Cady would smile. You know. The smile that creeps you out and makes the hair on your body stand on point while your internal alarms are screaming, �Do not be caught alone in a dark alley with this man!!!� I�m talking more the kind of smile that Freddie Prince Jr. or Mike Piazza would give. You know. The kind that makes you reflexively smile back � maybe even wink � demonstrate just how much fun you�re having, all the while oozing that �wow! My girls here are having such a great time. Your boys are having a good time too. Maybe our little crowds can converge, and we can have a FAB time together!� Now that�s what I�m talking about!

But I digress. That little dream did not come true last night. No, no. Instead, we had this random guy that had started out with potential. He was at least good looking. He strolls up and snatches up one of my 2 compadres and they start dancing. Cool... Until. He suddenly mistakes his own identity for the King Kong and decides to slide his hands up under her hamstrings and pick her up. Did I mention that his real identity was more along the line of Hugh Grant? Cute, but not so big. Yeah. They immediately start falling, and she's yelling. "What are you doing!? Put me down before you hurt yourself!!" It was really pretty damn funny. Probably the highlight event of the evening. Then we had some weirdo who all night long was making his mouth gestures, and holding his holding his arms open to welcome any of us that would glance his direction, never mind make eye contact � heaven forbid maybe even give the time of night � to the vision of his wriggling hips resembling something along the lines of 50 year old male belly dancer. Oh. Wow. That was a sight I could have lived without.

The evening did end well. We did manage to enjoy ourselves among all the wackos. Luckily the bond and energy produced by good girlfriends are enough to overcome and win out no matter how bleak and disconcerting the sea of eligible (or not) persons. Long story short. Never take your friends for granted. In the end, they are what make your seconds, minutes, hours, days, nights, weeks, months, years, centuries worth remembering. Besides, who else will you be able to talk to about your misadventures, and have them truly understand? Who else can laugh with or at you without you ever really knowing the difference or caring for that matter? It�s all good, man. Gotta love it.